What is a Four Point Home Inspection?

A four-point inspection focuses on 4 primary systems in homes: roof, plumbing, electrical, and HVAC. The inspection is normally conducted to determine the eligibility of an older home for insurance. It assesses whether the 4 components are in good working condition so the insurance company can evaluate risk.

Elements of a Four Point Inspection

This type of inspection looks at these 4 major components:

  • Roof
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • HVAC System

Here are some of the finer details of these systems that the inspector will evaluate.

The Roof

Inspectors inspect the roof for age, damage, and condition of the roofing materials. If the roof is beyond its expected lifespan, the insurance company may deny coverage for the roof or even the whole house. Different types of roofs vary in how long they will properly protect a home. An asphalt roof is expected to last about 20 years, while a metal roof can last at least 40 years.

If your roof shows any of these signs, you will probably have to make repairs before you can qualify for homeowners insurance:

  • Loose or lifting shingles
  • Excessive loss of granules
  • Missing shingles or tiles
  • Missing fasteners
  • Leaky roofs
  • Cracked tiles
  • Damaged tiles or shingles
  • Faulty repairs


The inspector will check the type of electrical wiring and panels you have in your home. They will also take note of any wiring repairs, the age, safety hazards, and the current state of the electrical system.

If your home has older aluminum wires, chances are you won’t pass the inspection because they are fire hazard risks. It’s worth noting that the most common source of residential fire is caused by faulty electrical wires.


The inspector will note the type of plumbing pipes found in your home and determine their condition. Besides that, they will also inspect and report on the water heater and its age and any signs of leaks in the home.

Common issues that can make you fail a plumbing inspection include:

  • Water leaks
  • Polybutylene piping
  • Broken traps
  • Water heater age


This inspection focuses on heating, ventilation, and air conditioning. The inspector will inspect the functionality and condition of your HVAC system. These checks will also include signs of possible damage including leaks.

Not all homes require a four-point inspection, but they are often required for older homes. This type of inspection doesn’t have any grading system so you will either pass or fail. If the home fails, you can make repairs to bring the home up to the insurer’s standards or look for an insurance company that doesn’t require one.

Advanced Termite and Home Inspections serves Eastern NC with four-point inspections and other home inspection services. Contact us to schedule an appointment.